Python Forum
[Share] Invented a new wheel for calling Python from JAVA
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
[Share] Invented a new wheel for calling Python from JAVA
I'm a java developer and need call Python from JAVA sometimes. I google that but didn't find a satisfy way to do it. The Jython is clear and simple, but it is not CPython and doesn't support external C package, also slower than CPython. Process and Runtime method is not easily to get a well format result. Other bridge solutions solve such problems, but inject additional codes. So finally I decided to invent the wheel myself, took me 5 nights, now it works fine in my project, so I hope it has a little help for you too. It is open source and can find it on GitHub: jpserve (https://github.com/johnhuang-cn/jpserve)

JPserve provides a simple way to call Python and exchange the result by well format JSON, few performance loss.

The following is a simple sample.
At first, install jpserve by "pip -install jpserve" and start jpserve on Python side, jpserve is a script executor server executes the script from JAVA side.

from jpserve.jpserve import JPServe
serve = JPServe(("localhost", 8888))
serve.start()
Output:
INFO:JPServe:JPServe starting... INFO:JPServe:JPServe listening in localhost 8888
Then call Python from JAVA side:
PyServeContext.init("localhost", 8888);
PyExecutor executor = PyServeContext.getExecutor();
script = "a = 2\n"
         + "b = 3\n"
         + "_result_ = a * b";

PyResult rs = executor.exec(script);
System.out.println("Result: " + rs.getResult());
Output:
Result: 6
Did you try Swig?
What about reading and writing to FIFO file?
"As they say in Mexico 'dosvidaniya'. That makes two vidaniyas."
https://freedns.afraid.org
(Oct-13-2016, 04:05 PM)wavic Wrote: What about reading and writing to FIFO file?