Python Forum
Simple UDP server not receiving
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 4 Average
Simple UDP server not receiving
My Windows7 UDP server with the code below from wiki.python.org is not working.

I am sending a UDP packet from an Arduino , but nothing is being received. I think the problem is that TCPview says the socket exists, but it does not say "listening". I'm not certain that it should say "listening" like most other ports,  but I'm guessing it should.

I am a new Python user, but I have a lot of networking experience and I think that have configured my routers and firewalls correctly.

Any ideas?

-----------------------------------------------code ----------------------
import socket

UDP_IP = "0.0.0.0"
UDP_PORT = 9000

sock = socket.socket(socket.AF_INET, # Internet
                     socket.SOCK_DGRAM) # UDP
sock.bind((UDP_IP, UDP_PORT))

while True:
    data, addr = sock.recvfrom(1024) # buffer size is 1024 bytes
    print "received message:", data
Are you sure the Arduino is set up correctly, see : https://www.arduino.cc/en/Reference/Ethernet

To see if you are connected on the windows machine, open a command terminal with administrative permissions and type
netstat -a and/or netstat -b, type netstat /? for definitions of options.

If you have a firewall, try disabling it temporarily for testing.
If it ain't broke, I just haven't gotten to it yet.
OS: Windows 10, openSuse 42.3, freeBSD 11, Raspian "Stretch"
Python 3.6.5, IDE: PyCharm 2018 Community Edition
(Apr-26-2017, 07:57 PM)sparkz_alot Wrote: Are you sure the Arduino is set up correctly, see : https://www.arduino.cc/en/Reference/Ethernet

To see if you are connected on the windows machine, open a command terminal with administrative permissions and type
netstat -a and/or netstat -b, type netstat /? for definitions of options.

If you have a firewall, try disabling it temporarily for testing.