Python Forum
Simple script to find directories containing pictures
Thread Rating:
  • 3 Vote(s) - 3.33 Average
Simple script to find directories containing pictures
I'm relatively new to python, just a couple of months into learning, but I wanted to share this, because I thought it was wickedly cool.

I had a problem today and thought it was a good chance to practice some python.

I want to make sure all the photos on my PC are backed up online, so I wanted to write a script just to find all directories on my external hard drive that contain pictures (just jpegs).

I come from a C++ background, so I started writing for loops to iterate the directories and files, but I thought, "there's got to be a better way."

I started searching and testing some code, and I whittled it down to just 5 lines of actual code, and only 1 of those is doing any real work!

It was just cool to see how powerful the language is, and I know this is just a simple task for python. 

Here's what I ended up with:

import os

cur_dir = os.path.dirname(os.path.realpath(__file__))

dirs_with_pics = [root for root, dirs, files in os.walk(cur_dir) if any(map(lambda f: f.endswith(".jpg"), files))]

for dir in dirs_with_pics:
    print(dir)
The script file is located in the root directory of my external hard drive so that __file__ would just work.

Still learning, so please comment if there are better or more "pythonic" ways to do this.
You might want to checkout glob :)
You need glob - http://stackoverflow.com/a/3964691/6212957
No glob is not needed,and glob is  the wrong tool for this task it dos not recursively search sub folders as os.walk() dos.
After PEP-471 os.walk() has got faster Python 3.5 or newer.
Quote:In practice, removing all those extra system calls makes os.walk() about 8-9 times as fast on Windows ,
and about 2-3 times as fast on POSIX systems . So we're not talking about micro- optimizations.