Python Forum
Single line intermitant inputs to an array
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Single line intermitant inputs to an array
I am having trouble trying to input values into an array in which I want to change only some of them. (the array shown is a very much abbreviated version of over 100 values for purposes of illustration)
I can make the changes conventionally in a series of vertical adjustments, but I want to save space by inputting he changes in a single line.
I am still very new to array structures, so would appreciate some help.

import numpy as np

results = np.array([['A','B','C','D','E','F','G'],
                    [24,41,67,'Twomy',3,11,'Plc',]])

print('Original Results:')
print(results)
print()
print()
results[1,0] = 16
results[1,3] = 22
results[1,4] = 18
results[1,5] = 'Smalley'

print('Vertically modified  Results:')
print(results)
print()
print()

#two points: 1. how to make 'Small' print out in full  as 'Smalley'

#and point 2: is it possible to create the changes in a single line such that B,C and G values are unchanged:

#I have tried a few variations, but none work:

#results[1,0] == 17, results[1,3] == 32, results[1,4] == 'Smalley', results[1,5] == 10
#results[[1,0] == 17, results[1,3] == 32, results[1,4] == 'Smalley', results[1,5] == 10]
#results[[1,0] == '17', [1,3] == '32', [1,4] == 'Smalley', [1,5] == '10']
#results[1,0] == 17, results[1,3] == 32, results[1,4] == 'Smalley', results[1,5] == 10

#np.array([1,0] == 17, results[1,3] == 32, results[1,4] == 'Smalley', results[1,5] == 10)
#np.array([1,0] == '17', [1,3] == '32', [1,4] == 'Smalley', [1,5] == '10')
print('Atempts to horizontally modify results does not work:')
print(results)
print()

print('Which is the same as for Vertically modified  Results')
As you will see, I have tried lots of simple options, but none work.
Any advice appreciated!

Astrikor