Python Forum
Slower script on faster machine?
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Slower script on faster machine?
Hi, I am currently running a script created for me by my developer. I do not know much about the details about the script other than that we use it on ARCGis with arcply. I am not an experienced programmer so I cannot comment on the script specifics the issue however seems to be related to the machine or its configuration. The issue I am encountering is when I run the script on a slower laptop the script runs as expected with 27% CPU utilization. When I try to run the script on a desktop with hardware far superior to the laptop it runs with CPU utilization of 7% and much slower than what the laptop runs. They are both 32 bit installations and have tried many variations in regard to the location of the data and the script. Any help would be appreciated as I am not very knowledgeable python user. thanks.
If in neither case 100% CPU is being used, then the CPU is not the "bottleneck" and the script is not "CPU-bound" so it must be something else.

That something else could be lots of things (most referred to as "IO-bound") like hard-disk, RAM or network usage. Those differences can be operating system-dependent, further complicating things. It can also be because other processes on the same machine; maybe the laptop didn't have other programs, but that beefy machine is being used more since it's beefy.

Is there any reason you can't talk to your developer?