Python Forum
"Split" file and comparison with CSV
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
"Split" file and comparison with CSV
Hi, I'm very new to python and I need your help guys.

I want to know if it's possible to "split" file (with regex ?), read the line and make a comparison and then recreate the hole file.

See this, it's the kind of file I need to split. The regex would be "/##/" (so a "block" would be the first line (include) to the 5th line (exclude))

Output:
/##/PARAM/XX/YY/ZZ/X/N/N/N /##/ /donnee1/XXXXXXXX /donnee2/A ... /##/ /donnee1/YYYYY /donnee2/B ...
After spliting the file to get block, I'll need to compare the line of each block (so one by one) and read the line of a CSV file and compare. If a condition is true, I want to add a line of replace one precise line (but this is another story...)

For now I need to "split" the file into "block", but I really don't know how to do that...

I tried this :
files = open(file,'r').read().split('/##/')
names = ['file'+ str(num) for num in range(len(files))]
for num,file in enumerate(files):
    open(names[num],'w').write(file)
but this is not what I want (it's creating every file from any "/##/" and removing it on every file created, include the first one which doesn't have to be removed /##/PARAM/XX/YY/ZZ/X/N/N/N)"
Something like this
input_file = 'input_file.txt' # '/path/to/inputfile.txt'

def save_to_file(n, lines):
    with open('file_{}.txt'.format(n), 'w') as out_f:
        out_f.writelines(lines)

with open(input_file) as in_file:
    header = next(in_file)
    num = 0
    for line in in_file:
        if line.strip() == '/##/':
            if num:
                save_to_file(n=num, lines=lines)
            lines = [header,]
            num += 1
        else:
            lines.append(line)
    save_to_file(n=num, lines=lines) # save the last block
last line not needed if last block also ends with /##/
If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself, Albert Einstein