Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Temp folder creation
Hi,

I am completely new to python and I want to replicate something that I am using in Excel. I want to create a .xlsx file call it test1 and do some work within the spreadsheet. Once this is done I would then like to save it in a temp folder (there may be two users using the file in the future) and save it using two variables - JobId and the other is environment. Once saved I will then push this to another destination.

How best to proceed with this?

I have seen this code and it creates a folder in the same place that my script is saved but I would prefer it to be a temp folder which would be deleted when I am finished.

mport os

def createFolder(directory):
    try:
        if not os.path.exists(directory):
            os.makedirs(directory)
    except OSError:
        print ('Error: Creating directory. ' + directory)

# Example
createFolder('./test/')
# Creates a folder in the current directory called data
Fortunately, Python has a whole module dedicated to this - https://docs.python.org/3.7/library/temp...yDirectory
(Oct-02-2018, 04:21 PM)micseydel Wrote: Fortunately, Python has a whole module dedicated to this - https://docs.python.org/3.7/library/temp...yDirectory

I found that earlier when I was researching - I came across this code which seems to do what I need however I am having some trouble in getting it to work on my end. I am getting this bug message - AttributeError: 'module' object has no attribute 'TemporaryDirectory'

import tempfile

# create a temporary file and write some data to it
fp = tempfile.TemporaryFile()
fp.write(b'Hello world!')
# read data from file
fp.seek(0)
fp.read()
b'Hello world!'
# close the file, it will be removed
fp.close()

# create a temporary file using a context manager
with tempfile.TemporaryFile() as fp:
    fp.write(b'Hello world!')
    fp.seek(0)
    fp.read()
b'Hello world!'

# file is now closed and removed