Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Text files
Hi, is it OK for my PC when my python code works with 200 000 small text files? My python program opens every second new text file writes there one number and then closes it and then again and again. I am relatively new to programming so I am not sure if such high number of files is OK. Is it better to write everything to one bigger (but still nothing huge) file and loose clarity in data or is it OK to make 200 000 small text files and open/close/write into them in intervals which last only few milliseconds/seconds? Thanks for advice!
I would think having a different file for each datum would lose a lot of clarity in the data.

Each file requires a certain amount of overhead. 200,000 files are going to take up a lot more space than one file with 200,000 lines. Opening files also requires overhead, so your program is going to run a lot slower with 200,00 files than with one. One file is more efficient (up to a point).
Craig "Ichabod" O'Brien - xenomind.com
I wish you happiness.
Recommended Tutorials: BBCode, functions, classes, text adventures
What will happen with these files? What they are used for?
I'm not 'in'-sane. Indeed, I am so far 'out' of sane that you appear a tiny blip on the distant coast of sanity. Bucky Katt, Get Fuzzy

Da Bishop: There's a dead bishop on the landing. I don't know who keeps bringing them in here. ....but society is to blame.