Python Forum
This is a pain, is there a quicker way to do this?
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
This is a pain, is there a quicker way to do this?
Hi,
Suppose you are using python code to enter cell values into a spreadsheet like so:

sheet['A1'].value = '01'
sheet['A2'].value = '02'
sheet['A3'].value = '03'
sheet['A4'].value = '04'
sheet['A5'].value = '05'
sheet['A6'].value = '06'
sheet['A7'].value = '07'
sheet['A8'].value = '08'
sheet['A9'].value = '09'
sheet['A10'].value = '10'
Then you realize cell 'A2' actually needs a value of '01a' inserted and all the other cells need to drop down one number, so A2 becomes A3, A3 becomes A4, etc.
I've been changing the A-numbers manually and I realize I'm missing out on the basic power of Python by not entering these values using a list and than iterating over the list within the cell. (I'm a new programmer and not feeling so smart so take it easy Naughty Tongue )
sheet['A1 + increment'].value = 'LIST ITERATION'
Would this be the way to do it (which would mean a lot of refactoring for me), or is there a way to quickly increment the A1, A2, A3, etc. within the python code itself?

Thanks for looking this over. I have a hunch I'm wasting a lot of time with this. Huh
Phil
Pray
I suggest a function
def update_vertically(sheet, col, row, items):
    row = int(row)
    for i, value in enumerate(items):
        sheet['{}{}'.format(col, row+i)].value = value

update_vertically(sheet, 'A', 2, ['0{}'.format(i) for i in range(3, 11)])
Also I don't know which module you are using to create the spreadsheet, but it may have a builtin way of "updating vertically"...
Thanks Gribouillis <:

I've copied this code into my IDE and I'm going to dissect each bit to learn it. Interesting to me is implementing this will run a function within a function because the values are called from within a function.

I'll post again what I learn and any successes.

Thanks again for the direction.
Phil