Python Forum
[Tkinter] Threading a Tkinter GUI
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
[Tkinter] Threading a Tkinter GUI
Hi all! I'm working on a GUI to control pulses of alternating current. I've seen many posts that talk about Tkinter being bad in the thread and I've been doing tests and yes, I really can not make it work the right way.
I have a raspberry connected to 5 AD converters( 3 writing and 2 reading), and I want my GUI continues working at the same time that analog values are read and written on the screen through label.

This is my code. I'm not very experienced in python but I'm doing my bests.

The two functions that I want to run on different threads are ValorAnalog and ConfirmarOna.

Thanks!
Could you describe what those functions are supposed to do? If you're just writing a value out or reading something in, why is it so slow that it needs to be threaded? Or is it doing something else?

Also, this is terrifying:
Quote:
        t=1
        while(t==1):
            x = threading.Thread(target=ConfirmarOna)
            f = threading.Thread(target=ValorAnalog)
            Tiempototal=Tiempo1+Tiempo2+Tiempo3
            time.sleep(Tiempototal)
So you're creating an infinite number of threads, but never start any of them...
Hi nilamo, first of all, I worked with root.after() and what I see is the following:

[Image: 4MVyMk.jpg]

more focused:

This is what my write function does.
The time that the reading function is taken, is the continuous state of the wave. And what I want is a wave that does not have these stops.

ConfirmarOna is the writer function and ValorAnalog is my reader function.

PD: sorry for that english, I'm spanish ^^'
Let's start with just the reader, ValorAnalog.

(Nov-09-2018, 04:07 PM)Victor95 Wrote:
    def ValorAnalog():
        data = [0xC0,0x83]
        bus.write_i2c_block_data(0x48,0x01,data)
        time.sleep(0.1)
        data = bus.read_i2c_block_data(0x48, 0x00, 2)
        raw=(data[0] * 256 + data[1])