Python Forum
Trouble with LPtHW exercise 21
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Trouble with LPtHW exercise 21
Hi all

Im very new to programming and started Learn Python the Hard Way a week ago. Im currently at exercise 21, a lot of it makes sense but there is something I just can't understand from ex 21.

Here is the code:

def add(a, b):
    print "ADDING %d + %d" % (a, b)
    return a + b

def subtract(a, b):
    print "SUBTRACTING %d - %d" % (a, b)
    return a - b

def multiply(a, b):
    print "MULTIPLYING %d * %d" % (a, b)
    return a * b

def divide(a, b):
    print "DIVIDING %d / %d" %(a, b)
    return a / b

print "Let's do some math with just functions!"

age = add(30, 5)
height = subtract(78, 4)
weight = multiply(90, 2)
iq = divide(100, 2)

print "Age: %d, Height: %d, Weight: %d, IQ: %d" % (age, height, weight, iq)

# A puzzle for extra credit, type it in anyway.
print "Here is a puzzle."

what = add(age, subtract(height, multiply(weight, divide(iq, 2))))

print "That becomes: ", what, "Can you do it by hand?"
This is what the terminal shows me:

Let's do some math with just functions!
ADDING 30 + 5
SUBTRACTING 78 - 4
MULTIPLYING 90 * 2
DIVIDING 100 / 2
Here is a puzzle.
DIVIDING 50 / 2
MULTIPLYING 180 * 25
SUBTRACTING 74 - 4500
ADDING 35 + -4426
That becomes:  -4391 Can you do it by hand?
I don't understand why: "ADDING 30 + 5", "SUBTRACTING 78 - 4", "MULTIPLYING 90 * 2" & "DIVIDING 100 / 2", shows before print.

After we define the functions in the beginning we print: "Let's do some math with just functions!"

Then we create some variables with the functions we created:
age = add(30, 5)
height = subtract(78, 4)
weight = multiply(90, 2)
iq = divide(100, 2)

But they are just defined not called. In the functions there is a print and a return. But the print for all the functions shows and then the return show in: print "Age: %d, Height: %d, Weight: %d, IQ: %d" % (age, height, weight, iq) Why is that ?

Thank you for your help Smile