Python Forum
Trying to understand the python code
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Trying to understand the python code
Hello,
I am a beginner. I have written this code and it works for some part while it doesn't work the other time. Kindly help.

class Employee:
    def __init__(self, full_name, age ):
        self.full_name = full_name
        self.age = age

def shout(self):
        print(f"the details of employee is , {self.full_name} and the age is {self.age}")

def run(self):
        return self

empl_1 = Employee("Suman Palisetty", 37)
# empl_2 = Employee("Suman Palisetty", 38)
# empl_1.shout()
# empl_2.shout()

print(empl_1.run())                 #It gives me <__main__.Employee object at 0x000002952C978400>
# print(Employee.run())             '''if we uncomment this line and run it, it gives me this error.
Error:
Traceback (most recent call last): File "C:/Users/spali/PycharmProjects/First/decorator1.py", line 18, in <module> print(Employee.run()) TypeError: run() missing 1 required positional argument: 'self' '''
What am I doing wrong, why it doesn't work for me?

</code>
Your Employee.run() method returns self - that is the instance of the class. So with print(empl_1.run()) you get <__main__.Employee object at 0x000002952C978400> what is expected.

run() is instance method, it expects to get [automatically] instance of the class as firs argument self. If you run print(Employee.run()) run it does not get such instance and you get the error.

Now it's unclear what you actually expect run() method to do. Care to elaborate, so that we can be of more help?
If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself, Albert Einstein
How to Ask Questions The Smart Way: link and another link
Create MCV example
Debug small programs

The way to use classes are via objects. This means that Employee is just like a name for your class, like a title. The way you use the class is by initializing an object. This is done by this code: