Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Tuple help!
Complete beginner to all things programming, let alone python. I'm looking to numerous sources to help me out learning but I'm struggling big time. I think part of the reason is that I'm not reading/interpreting the questions correctly. Here is a tuple exercise I'm struggling with from the learning game CheckiO:

def easy_unpack(elements: tuple) -> tuple:

returns a tuple with 3 elements - first, third and second to the last

When I read this, based on what I've learned thus far, my thinking is:

"Three elements of the 1st, 3rd, and 2nd to last means -1, -3, -2."

Therefore my code is:

# easy_unpack((1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9)) == (-1, -3, -2)
return (9, 6, 7)

This is wrong, however. Why?
Elements are numbered starting from zero. So the first element of a tuple is element 0.

>>> t = ("first", "second", "third", "fourth", "fifth")
>>> t[0]
'first'
Then once you decide which ones are pulled out, you can put them in a new tuple and return that.

>>> new_tuple = (t[0], t[1], t[0])
>>> new_tuple
('first', 'second', 'first')
chiron likes this post
Not a native English speaker, but
(Nov-21-2020, 04:24 AM)chiron Wrote: first, third and second to the last

would mean
  • first
  • third
  • second to the last
so, from (1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9) I would expect (1, 3, 7)
It's up to you to figure out the correct indexes to us.
chiron likes this post
If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself, Albert Einstein
How to Ask Questions The Smart Way: link and another link
Create MCV example
Debug small programs

@bowlofred So we have to define each element separately that we want an output of?

@buran Embarrassing on my part Doh I read that as all three numbers from the last, hence why my original post contained an output of negative numbers.
(Nov-21-2020, 05:12 PM)chiron Wrote: @bowlofred So we have to define each element separately that we want an output of?