Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 1 Average
TypeError: __init__()
Hello, im new at python,and im learning how to develop a web app, with flask, and useing sql alchemy, so i have a form to register members to my author table, but im recibing the following error:
TypeError: __init__() takes 1 positional argument but 6 were given

i have the folders author, and blog

so in my author folder i have my models .py as follow

from flask_blog import db

class Author(db.Model):
    id = db.Column(db.Integer, primary_key=True)
    fullname = db.Column(db.String(80))
    email = db.Column(db.String(35), unique=True)
    username = db.Column(db.String(80), unique=True)
    password = db.Column(db.String(80))
    is_author = db.Column(db.Boolean)

def __init__(self, fullname, email, username, password, is_author=False):

self.fullname = fullname
    self.email = email
    self.username = username
    self.password = password
    self.is_author = is_author

def __repr__(self):
    return '<Author %r>' % self.username
so the problem appears in my views.py which is in my blog folder

from flask_blog import app
from flask import render_template, redirect, flash, url_for  # noqa : F401
from blog.form import SetUpForm
from flask_blog import db
from author.models import Author
from blog.models import Blog

@app.route('/')
@app.route('/index')
def index():
        return"Hello World"

@app.route('/admin')
def admin():
        blogs = Blog.query.count()
        if blogs == 0:
                return redirect(url_for('setup'))
        return render_template('blog/admin.html')

@app.route('/setup', methods=('GET', 'POST'))
def setup():
        error = ""
        form = SetUpForm()
        if form.validate_on_submit():
                author = Author(
                        form.fullname.data,
                        form.email.data,
                        form.username.data,
                        form.password.data,
                        True
                )