Python Forum
TypeError: method missing 1 positional argument
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
TypeError: method missing 1 positional argument
Hi, I'm new to programming and have to write a program using methods and classes. I wrote this program and the logic makes sense to me but python throw me a TypeError. When I put an int in the get_name method it runs but when I don't it doesn't and I don't understand why. Can someone help me diagnose this? Here is my code:
class Pet: 

def  __init__(self, name, animal_type, age):

self.__name = name

self.__animal_type = animal_type

self.__age = age

def set_name(self, name):

self.__name = name

def set_animal_type(self, animal_type):

self.__animal_type = animal_type

def set_age(self, age):

self.__age = age

def get_name(self, name):

return self.__name

def get_animal_type(self, animal_type):

return self.__animal_type

def get_age(self, age):

return self.__age

def main():

dog = Pet('1', '2', '3')

print (dog.get_name())

main()
When I put any integer it 'here',

print (dog.get_name('here'))

it runs how I want it to. Why does it need an integer? Wall Wall
Please use python and output tags when posting code and results. I put them in for you this time. Here are instructions for doing it yourself next time.

Look at your definition of Pet, specifically the get_name method. You defined two parameters: self and name. The self parameter is provided automatically for instances of the class, but you have to provide name. If you don't, the function fails. You don't use the name parameter, so you should probably just remove it. You're going to have the same problem with your other getters.

BTW, this is Python, not Java. You never almost never use getters and setters in Python. They slow things down, make your code harder to understand, and don't actually do anything. If you really need that sort of security (as in, self.y must change whenever self.x changes) you use properties. But generally you just don't bother.