Python Forum
Unable to pull number using BeautifulSoup and Regex
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Unable to pull number using BeautifulSoup and Regex
Hello,

I'm new to python, I'm trying to pull the number from the document using BeautifulSoup.

Here is my code :

from textwrap import shorten
from bs4 import BeautifulSoup
import json
import requests
import re

url = 'https://m.propertyfinder.ae/en/rent/apartment-for-rent-dubai-dubai-marina-marina-promenade-delphine-tower-7276805.html'
response = requests.get(url)
soup = BeautifulSoup(response.text, 'lxml')
all_scripts = soup.find_all('script')
whatsapp_script = all_scripts[6]
whatsapp = re.search('{"type":"whatsapp","value":"([^"]+)"[^}]+}', whatsapp_script)

print(whatsapp.group())
I'm getting error like :

Error:
Traceback (most recent call last): File "/Users/evilslab/Documents/Websites/www.futurepoint.dev.cc/dobuyme/python/fetchFinder.py", line 12, in <module> whatsapp = re.search('{"type":"whatsapp","value":"([^"]+)"[^}]+}', whatsapp_script) File "/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/3.8/lib/python3.8/re.py", line 199, in search return _compile(pattern, flags).search(string) TypeError: expected string or bytes-like object
I'm trying to get the whatsapp number. How i can do that ?

Anyone here to help ?
from textwrap import shorten
from bs4 import BeautifulSoup
import json
import requests
import re

url = 'https://m.propertyfinder.ae/en/rent/apartment-for-rent-dubai-dubai-marina-marina-promenade-delphine-tower-7276805.html'
response = requests.get(url)
soup = BeautifulSoup(response.text, 'lxml')
all_scripts = soup.find_all('script')
whatsapp_script = all_scripts[6]
## Changed it here
print(type(whatsapp_script))
Output:
<class 'bs4.element.Tag'>
You are trying to use regex on a bs4.element.Tag
You'll need to convert it to a string.
Try:

## I cast the whatsapp_script to a string for the search
whatsapp = re.search('{"type":"whatsapp","value":"([^"]+)"[^}]+}', str(whatsapp_script))