Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Understanding Functions
Hello
I'm new to python i have been taking the Codeacademy python course, I'm trying to understand what a function is and how it can properly be used.
I have been reading about them/watching videos on them but i just don't understand it, I'm not sure if it just the way people are explaining it or i'm just dumb, Anyways if anyone has some useful link's/advice about them it would be much appreciated.
A function is a reusable routine that does the same thing for a set of variable inputs:
as an example, if you were building a simple calculator, you would need functions for add, subrtract ,
multiply and divide among others.
the add function might look like this:
>>> def add(a, b):
...     return a + b
>>> add(4, 5)
>>> add(2, 3)
>>> z = 2
>>> y = 9
>>> add(z, y)
>>>
hope this is helpful
functions group together any series of executions. If you repeat those more than twice, then you need a function. Then if you end up writing it a 3rd or 4th time, you really only have 1 spot to change if you have to change something, versus 4 different spots without a function. Even more, sometimes hundreds.

In Larz example. He called add() 3 times. Lets say he wanted to change the code to add 1 to every addition like
>>> def add(a, b):
...     return a + b + 1
The rest of the code stays the same. You dont have to change it anywhere else. Whereas if you didnt have a function, he would of had to change it 3 other times.
Recommended Tutorials:
You write a function when you have to repeat a block of code more than once. 
number = int(input("> "))
if number % 2 == 0:
    print("even")
else:
    print('odd')

if number % 2 == 0:
    print(number * 2)
else:
    print(number ** 2)
You can write a function to check if the number is even:
def is_even(num): # here you define a function
    if num % 2 == 0:
        return True
    else:
        return False

number = int(input("> "))