Python Forum
Unexpected output, not sure why
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Unexpected output, not sure why
I am a beginner and im trying to learn python for project with my brother.
Here is the code

""" so im learning python for a project with justin so i decided to see if i could remember what i learned so
far by making a this  little program. then i could show justin where im at and he can proceed with the project
accordingly. See attached text file for input/output table
"""

A="You're lying to me but lets continue"
B="Again with the lying... but lets keep going"

def lie1or2 (x):
    if x != "Justin" and x != "justin":
        return False
    if x == "Justin" and x == "justin":
        return True

print("So this is a little dealy I made to try and test what I learned so far and to see if it will run on "
      "your computer. Just fill in what it asks you.")
print("          ") #just to add a space

Name= input("What is your name?")

if Name != "Justin" and Name != "justin": #makes it so he can type in with OR without caps
    print(A) #your lying to me but lets continue
    Color= input("What is your favorite color?")

if Name == "Justin" and Name == "justin":         #answer was as expected continue collecting info
    Color = input("What is your favorite color?")

lie1or2(Name)  #calling function lie1or2 with input NAME i think?

if Color != "Orange" and Color != "orange": #why cant the first "color" be defined? Isnt it defined above?
    while lie1or2 is True:
        print(A)
        Favorite = input("Who is your favorite sibling?")
        break

if Color != "Orange" and Color != "orange":
    while lie1or2 is False:
        print(B)
        break

Favorite = input("Who is your favorite sibling?")  #i shouldnt need this right? but it doesnt work without it.

if Color == "Orange" and Color == "orange":

while Favorite != "Isaac" and Favorite != "isaac":
        print("Incorrect. Try again")