Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Updating Key in JSON File
Hi all, this is my first post as I am a Python beginner and would greatly appreciate any help. Basically, I need to update a a JSON file used by a service that contains a simple JSON list. However, rather than the values I need to replace the key names so the roles map to an Active Directory group within the sample file below:

Output:
{ "operations": { "ops_modify": { "paths": [ "ops_set_config" ], "methods": [ "GET" ] }, "ops_read": { "paths": [ "ops_get_summary", "ops_get_request_info" ], "methods": [ "GET" ] } }, "roles": { "Server Op": [ "emc", "mgmt", "fips_read" ], "Deployer": [ "mgmt", "config" ], "KP Admin": [ "mgmt", "kp" ] }, "permissions": { "logs": [ "ops_read", "file" ], "adminusers": [ "adminusers.read" ] } }
So, I need to replace the 'Deployer' role with an AD distinguished name such as 'CN=Dev_Deployer,OU=test,DC=example,DC=com'. I've already updated another JSON file using the json module but in that case I only needed to change the values against a key, not the key itself. I have managed to achieve the above by using the code below:

def replace_acls(self, filename, dn, role):
    with open(filename, 'r') as f:
        dn = f.read().replace(role, dn)

with open(filename, 'w') as f:
        f.write(dn)
However, I'd like to follow best practice of using the JSON module instead but cannot get it to write the data back to the file. As an example of the code I cannot get to work:

import json

with open('acl.json', 'r') as f:
    data = json.load(f)
    for item in data['roles']:
        item = item.replace('Deployer', 'CN=Dev_Deployer,OU=test,DC=example,DC=com')

with open('acl.json', 'w') as f:
    json.dump(data, f, indent=2)
Any ideas, thanks in advance?
I added code to print out dictionary before and after changes, also cleaned up code a bit
** Note ** Uses f-string which requires python 3.6 or newer

import json
import os

def replace_acls(self, filename, dn, role):