Python Forum
Using Python and scikitlearn, how to output the individual feature dependencies?
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Using Python and scikitlearn, how to output the individual feature dependencies?
Hello,
I am relatively new to Python and Machine Learning.
I have a basic dataset for insurance fraud and a script that generates the model and runs the predictions.
I am able to output the accuracy percentages, but I would like to also output the feature dependencies: For example, what role did each attribute play in the prediction? The policy_number would be 0.0% where as the claim_amount would likely be 56.2%, does this make sense?
Is there a scikit function for this? Also, is "feature dependency" even the correct term?
Thank you for your help!
-Matt
So in other words, you would like the coefficients of your model? Once you generate your regression by LR = model.fit(X,y) or similar, LR.coef_ is an array of the coefficients for each of the features. Take that and convert to percent of total and you will have what you are looking for.
Hello Jef,
Yes, exactly! Thank you so much for this suggestion. So the proper terminology is "coefficients."
Aside from LR, does this *.coef function work for any model?
Thank you, again, for taking the time to help me.
I hesitate to say yes to any or all, but in general that is true. Probably not for classification models but have not checked.

The other term besides coefficients is "weights". I use coefficients for the equation, weights once you have converted to a percentage. Others can correct me if wrong
Hello Jef,
Thanks again for your input. Ok, I have made some changes to my code:
from sklearn.ensemble import ExtraTreesClassifier
model = ExtraTreesClassifier()
model.fit(x_train, y_train)
coef = pd.DataFrame({''Columns'': x_train.columns, ''Importances'': np.transpose(model.feature_importances_)}).sort_values(by=[''Importances''], ascending=False)
print(coef.nlargest(10, ''Importances''))