Python Forum
Using the NPS API for Project
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Using the NPS API for Project
Hi, I am working on a project for school where I need to use the National Parks Service API Key (specifically to return campgrounds). I want to write my code so that when a user inputs a specific city within the United States, the program will output the names of the campgrounds located in that city.

I do not know how to make a for loop to do this or how I should go about coding this, any help would be greatly appreciated I am new to Python!

API Key: https://www.nps.gov/subjects/developer/a...ampgrounds
There are packages for that. I haven't used any of these, so you'll have to try them to see if they can be used in your project.
List is here: https://pypi.org/search/?q=National+%2B+...ce+%2B+API
(Dec-05-2020, 03:42 AM)Larz60+ Wrote: There are packages for that.
given that it's a homework question it's pretty sure they are expected to make the requests (incl. authentication) themselves and not use third-party package. I hope at least requests is allowed

@belle2008, start by register at the NPS website and obtain API key. Follow the documentation and examples to get understanding of the API - e.g. endpoints, required params when make request at some endpoint, what response you will get, rate limits, etc. There are examples. Make sure you can make a request (with authentication), parse response and so. Then you can think of obtaining user input and make a request based on that input.
If allowed I would recommend using requests package. Of course if allowed to use other third-party package as suggested by @Larz60+ - feel free to do so.
Larz60+ likes this post
If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself, Albert Einstein
How to Ask Questions The Smart Way: link and another link
Create MCV example
Debug small programs