Bottom Page

Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 1 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 Using visual studios 2017 for writing python?
#1
I just started taking a intro to programming course this semester in college, and I managed to get visual studios 2015 to work with the latest version of python. a few days ago while using visual studios I got a notification on visual studios advertising visual studios 2017 and it say that it has integrated python support. I downloaded the 2017 update but for one I can seem to get into a blank template to start writing in programming code, and second I can not seem to find any extension, framework or indication stating that studio's will recognize python code. My main question is, has any been using visual studios, and/or has updated to studios 2017 and knows how to get it set up in python?
Quote
#2
I would check out:
PyCharm Community version: https://www.jetbrains.com/pycharm/downlo...s&code=PCC
atom: https://atom.io/
Quote
#3
If you are using windows I would recommend you use VS Code (Visual Studio Code). Its just a code editor with keyword color coding. Its pretty lightweight. If you want to run your python script install python from python.org and run it. I am usually coding in Ubuntu so I use gedit edit and the terminal to run my code.

VS Code can be found here: https://code.visualstudio.com/
Python 3.6.1 can be found here: https://www.python.org/downloads/release/python-361/

(I assume you are kind of new to programming)
Quote
#4
It seems to be a bit more involved.  From what I gather, Python is not included in Visual Studio 2017, but is included in Visual Studio 2017 Preview.  Here is the article explaining what's happening: Python and VS 2017
If it ain't broke, I just haven't gotten to it yet.
OS: Windows 10, openSuse 42.3, freeBSD 11, Raspian "Stretch"
Python 3.6.5, IDE: PyCharm 2018 Community Edition
Quote
#5
For Windows - Notepad++.
"As they say in Mexico 'dosvidaniya'. That makes two vidaniyas."
https://freedns.afraid.org
Quote
#6
(Mar-23-2017, 02:00 PM)sparkz_alot Wrote: It seems to be a bit more involved.  From what I gather, Python is not included in Visual Studio 2017, but is included in Visual Studio 2017 Preview.  Here is the article explaining what's happening: Python and VS 2017

ok that seems to make a bit more sense, though confusing why it's only in the preview version. worst case I will stick to 2015 as the extension I have works. as the saying goes, "if it ain't broke, don't fix it."

I like using visual studio because one I am slightly a bit comfortable with it, and I like how it pops up to finish what I am typing. which I know other programs do that.
Quote
#7
Quote:and I like how it pops up to finish what I am typing. which I know other programs do that.
Most Python IDEs/editors has a autocomplete function or plugin.
Atom that i use most has it in Autocomplete-python.
Which use jedi or kite.

For REPL i use ptpython which also has autocomplete for all.
Quote

Top Page

Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Visual Studio Python 2.2 Source Project bobosamma 5 223 Oct-14-2019, 11:19 AM
Last Post: snippsat
  In Visual Studio Python is not properly installed jalea148 4 242 Sep-26-2019, 12:31 PM
Last Post: snippsat
  Newb question: Debugging + Linting Python in Visual Studio Code Drone4four 1 316 Apr-15-2019, 06:19 AM
Last Post: perfringo
  How to set up visual studio 2017 for 3ds max Python development littleGreenDude 1 666 Dec-27-2018, 04:51 PM
Last Post: littleGreenDude
  MS Visual Studio 2015 and Python 3.7 MattSA 3 2,379 Oct-04-2018, 07:11 PM
Last Post: snippsat
  Add reference into Python in Visual Studio python_bim 0 549 Aug-12-2018, 05:02 AM
Last Post: python_bim
  Python app built by converting visual basic macros IanR 5 1,169 May-26-2018, 09:46 AM
Last Post: Larz60+
  Passing parameters from C# to Python[for using in gensim] in Visual Studio 2017 ZoghbyAya 0 1,017 May-21-2018, 08:49 PM
Last Post: ZoghbyAya
  Setting up python with visual studio code. Having one issue. xringo 2 1,088 May-21-2018, 12:09 AM
Last Post: snippsat
  Microsoft Visual C++ 14.0 is required. Get it with "Microsoft Visual C++ Build Tools rajeev1729 2 26,934 Apr-16-2018, 06:59 PM
Last Post: nilamo

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)