Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
While True Problem
I am new to python and I am trying some practice problems and I can get this one to work:

-Prompt user for an integer between 1 and 10 and re-prompt if the input is not in this range
-Print that many "&", one per line

I know I need to use while True to make this work, but I can get it to loop more than a single &.

Any help would be appreciated, thanks.
"while True:" is going to run over and over and over. The tricky part is getting it to stop.

One way to break out of the loop is to "break" out of the loop.
import random

while True:
    value = random.randint(0, 10)
    if value == 5:
        break
    print(value)
This loop will print random numbers in the range 0..10 until the random number is 5. It then exits the loop without printing 5.

Inside a function you have an additional option; return. This loop counts how many random numbers are generated before the random number == value and returns the count.
import random

def counter(value, max_=10):
    counter = 1
    while True:
        counter += 1
        if random.randint(0, max_) == value:
            return counter

print(counter(5, 11))
You'll have to decide what get placed inside the loop and how to exit the loop.
Modern Python has walrus operator so we can replace while True: with this:

while (num := int(input('Enter number: '))) != 5:
       print(f'Number must be 5 but you entered {num!r}')
Note that this crashes if user enters something which can't be converted into int; it can be written without walrus as well but then there is no access/reference to the value user entered.
I'm not 'in'-sane. Indeed, I am so far 'out' of sane that you appear a tiny blip on the distant coast of sanity. Bucky Katt, Get Fuzzy

Da Bishop: There's a dead bishop on the landing. I don't know who keeps bringing them in here. ....but society is to blame.
i = int(input('Integer Between 1 & 10: '))

while True:

if i == 1:
print('&', end='\n')