Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 3 Average
While loop help
Hello, I am very new to python and I feel very stuck. Here is my homework problem followed by what I have tried:

##### Step 3:
##### Create loop that adds 20 random numbers between 0 and 10 to a list
##### Don't forget to create a counter and an empty list first
##### When the loop is complete, the full list should print (only at the end, not each time a number is added)

lis = list()
count = 0
while lis[count] < 20:
   i = random.randint(0,10)
   print i
This follows with an error stating that the line "while lis[count] < 20:" index is out of range. I am guessing this means that I have not added anything to my list so it cannot be less than 20? Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thank you
You are using count as an index, not as a counter
you want to use len instead:
lis = []
while len(lst) < 20:
   i = random.randint(1,10)
   lis.append(i)
   print(i)
since you're  not using the list for anything, a better way is:
for x in range(20):
   print(random.randint(1,10))
Thank you Larz you are da bomb. Due to my level of frustration and the amount that you have helped I am going to ask another question.

Here are the instructions followed by my attempt at completing them:

##### Next step:
##### Create loop that removes an unlucky number from the list generated in the last step.
##### IF the unlucky number is not in the list to begin with, the script should print a message that says this.
##### Otherwise, the script should print a message saying how many times the number is being removed from the list,
##### and then remove the number.
##### This will require a while loop, and the .count() method.
##### When the loop is complete, the updated list should print (only at the end, not each time a number is removed)

- I have chosen '1' for my unlucky number

##step 1 (correct, no problems here)
lis = []
while len(lis) < 20:
   i = random.randint(0,10)
   lis.append(i)
   print(i)