Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
White Space Help
Hello,

I'm not a programmer and I thought maybe you all could help with this. I am trying to get this script to allow white spaces on the aruguments that get added from the command line when it is run.

import argparse
from twitter import *
parser = argparse.ArgumentParser()
parser.add_argument("description")
parser.add_argument("audio_link")
args = parser.parse_args()

desc = args.description
filename = args.audio_link

#import os
#head, tail = os.path.split(filename)
#print (tail)

twitter =Twitter(auth=OAuth("REMOVED))

with open("Fire.png", "rb") as imagefile:
	imagedata = imagefile.read()
params = {"media[]": imagedata, "status":desc+" page received http://REMOVED/"+filename}

twitter.statuses.update_with_media(**params)
Command to run: python fire.py TEST PAGES INTERNAL 15:28:40 on 12/24/17 TEST_PAGES_INTERNAL_2017_12_24_15_28_33.mp3
It is the part in bold that it is dying on. I got this from someone using it on Linux who doesn't seem to have the same issues as I am running on windows.

If I run python fire.py "TEST PAGES INTERNAL 15:28:40 on 12/24/17" TEST_PAGES_INTERNAL_2017_12_24_15_28_33.mp3 with quotes around the bold part it works but the program that calls this script pukes and dies with the ""'s
Quote:this script pukes and dies with the ""'s
What does that mean? Post the exact traceback you get.

Quotes around the first argument is required in linux or windows as quotes group together text as one argument. Its all the description argument so it all needs quotes due to the spaces regardless of the system its on. The mp3 filename would require it also if it didnt have underscores but spaces.
Recommended Tutorials:
I am using this app http://www.twotonedetect.net/

If I put quotes around the wording which fixes my script the app above crashes because it uses the field for filenames etc.. and having quotes around it doesn't work.

[Image: ercSAxl.png]