Python Forum
Modulate brown noise in python
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Modulate brown noise in python
Hi everyone,

First of all thank you for taking time to read this. I assure you that I looked at all posts I could find, and other sources, but I can't find what I what so I post here my issue.

I am totally new to python, so I tried to read and learn what I could but I cannot seem to do what I want. My aim is to create a wave file of brown noise with amplitude modulation at a given frequency. From what I saw on the internet I have two possibilities: (I) generate brown noise and modulate it, or (II) get a brown noise wave file and modulate it. My problems are:

1) One of the options should be to choose the duration (i.e. the number of periods of the modulation frequency generated). For 1 second it generates a wave file of 1s, but for 3 seconds it generates a 5 seconds file, and for 5 seconds it generates a 9 seconds file! I don't get it...

2) I want to have a modulation frequency defined by the user, unfortunately, I don't have any mean to make sure that the frequency defined is really the final idea. Is there something to plot the signal?

3) I intended to use the python acoustics package, unfortunately I don't understand how to use the functions to create colored noise. I looked at the examples, but I don't see examples on colored noises functions use.

4) Maybe the idea (II) would be easier to use: import a brown noise file, cut to the duration I want and modulate with my frequency. Unfortunately I don't get how to modulate wave files frame by frame. Any idea?

Thank you if you have any tips for this, I am really struggling on this one. Please find below my code.

Pyxel

----------------------------

Here is my code:

""" This file proposes to modulate a given wav file"""

import wave
    import struct
    import time
    import math
    import random
    import acoustics

###########################################
    # General variables