Python Forum
Windows GUI with push buttons to launch python scripts
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Windows GUI with push buttons to launch python scripts
Hi, i have a project which works well but consists or a differnt script for what i want it to do. so i want to create a windows GUI so when a user presses the button (labelled whatever it should be) it launches the python script i direct the button to. its that simple at the moment but i have never tried to do this before so looking for advise if anyone can point me in the right direction ?

thanks
Pick a GUI framework and start making a basic window with a button and an event.
hi as i said i have never gone near this, could you recomend any please ?
I could but I would be biased giving you my preference.
What GUI are you looking for? Does it have to be good looking? Does it all the bells and whistles? What operating system it will be running on? Mobile or desktop? Gaming or graphical?

I would try a few to be honest.
https://wiki.python.org/moin/GuiProgramming

I would say the top ones are for graphical...
tkinter (only because it comes with pytohn)
wxpython
PyQt
Kivy (for mobile)
Recommended Tutorials:
(Jul-16-2019, 12:01 AM)metulburr Wrote: What GUI are you looking for? Does it have to be good looking? Does it all the bells and whistles? What operating system it will be running on? Mobile or desktop? Gaming or graphical?

I would try a few to be honest.
https://wiki.python.org/moin/GuiProgramming

I would say the top ones are for graphical...
tkinter (only because it comes with pytohn)
wxpython
PyQt
Kivy (for mobile)

I need help with this as well specifically for tkinter.
looks dont really matter, its for more of a robust system as the python scripts will be running security system stuff
As stated in the other similar thread

(Jul-17-2019, 05:16 AM)Yoriz Wrote: Try to do the following.
  1. Create a Frame and a mainloop, test it works.
  2. Add a button to the frame, test it works.