Python Forum
Word based Game of 21
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 2 Average
Word based Game of 21
Hi, I'm new to this forum and to python. I'm studying software development and I created a word based game of 21 with adjusted rules and a point system. This is my first attempt at coding Python and the only experience I have with coding is very minimal entry level C++.

The rules of the game
The player must reach 10 or more points to win, and three rounds to do so.
Each round, the player draws a random card number from 1 to 10, and keeps drawing until they decide to stop.
Once they stop, they will gain points based on their distance from 21, and will lose if they cannot reach 10 points within three rounds. However, f the user does lands on 21, it is an instant win. After that, they can choose to play again or not.

Choosing to stop drawing on the following numbers will reward the following number of points:
20 - 5 points, 19 - 4 points, 18 - 3 points, 17 - 2 points, 16 - 1 point.

The player can win in one round, by stopping on 21, or in two rounds by hitting 20 twice for example.
I created a flowchart to show how the game should work.

[Image: 21_Game_flowchart_Diagram_1_7_2.jpg]

Firstly i should state that I'm not sure if I'm using the software in the best way, so if I'm doing something wrong please let me know.
I'm using Spyder (Python 2.7) on Windows 10.
I run the code, and test the results from the IPython console in the software (is this the correct way/place to do this?)

Here's the code I've written. I included comments, but I can re-upload without them if necessary.

print("Let's play a game of 21!")
print("You have three rounds to get 10 points.")
print("Keep drawing cards from 1-10 until you reach 21! You can choose to stop early however!")
print("You get points based on how close you are to 21 - landing on 20 earns you 5 points and you get 1 less point the further away you are from 21.")
print("Hit 21 though and you immediately win!")