Python Forum
Batch job from epoch to human time
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Batch job from epoch to human time
Hi everyone, pretty new to python. I am a voice engineer by trade, but am trying to learn, as automation is huge in my field. That being said here is my question. I have a report that dumps out data in epoch time. I have utilized this code to get it translated properly to CST. Although, with a report that has 5200 of these, wondering if there is a batch way to run this for all?

>>> import time
>>> epoch = 1515998448
>>> time.strftime("%a, %d %b %Y %H:%M:%S %Z", time.localtime(epoch))
'Mon, 15 Jan 2018 00:40:48 Central Standard Time'
Any help is greatly appreciated!

thanks,

Jeff
what format is the report source data in? looking for .csv, .json, .txt PostgreSQL, MySQL, etc.
what software produces the report.
It's possible that the reporting software can convert the time.
Or, the data can be loaded and modified.
It all depends on source format and reporting package,
.txt primarily, i converted it over to .csv. Easier to read for customers of course.

Call manager is usually linux based on the backend, but Cisco locks it down so you cannot do anything. Even their own staff have to put in requests to get root access. Pretty crazy. So not sure if there is an easy way?

The CDR (call detail record) that it pulls from is so simplistic also, doesn't allow me to manipulate the time at all. Just gives you a date range, then exports out in only epoch. Let me know if i'm missing any information you are looking for.
I know exactly what you are talking about (CDR) as my background is telecommunications.
At some point, there needs to be translation.
Is the conversion to .csv just an export, or do you manipulate the data to get there?
(Feb-08-2018, 07:20 PM)Larz60+ Wrote: I know exactly what you are talking about (CDR) as my background is telecommunications.
At some point, there needs to be translation.