Python Forum
adding to code but still getting same output
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 4 Average
adding to code but still getting same output
Hello all,
I am a total newb and I am using a self study guide with interactive labs in the book using the most current version of Python (3.6.1). I've been doing pretty well and have even experimented and found small fixes to the example code to make my output match the examples in the book, I.E. adding / removing a [space] between \t  within a print statement, etc. very small things but big for a newb like myself. I am working on the chapter about loops and have followed the example... from what I can see exactly as it's written, but when I add a break command statement and then the continue to the existing loop code, I'm getting the exact same result and despite my looking at it... I can't seem to figure out why or what I am missing. I will admit that the instruction to add the break command was very slightly more vague than all of the previous, very concise instructions, but I have messed around with it and tried every different spacing combination I can think of and I either get a syntax error or the same output.
In the grand scheme of things this is a very small issue, but I'll be honest, it's bugging the crap out of me that I can't see or figure out what I've done wrong or am missing. I have had some errors along the way but have always up to this point been able to find the missing [ ' ] [ , ] [ ) ] or whatever mistake I've made in my code... I can't find this one and it's driving me nuts. :D

Here is the loop code example

for i in range(1,4):
   for j in range(1,4):
       print( 'Running i =', i, 'j =', j )
and here is the matching output I get for the above code

Output:
Running i = 1 j = 1 Running i = 1 j = 2 Running i = 1 j = 3 Running i = 2 j = 1 Running i = 2 j = 2 Running i = 2 j = 3 Running i = 3 j = 1 Running i = 3 j = 2 Running i = 3 j = 3
Then I add the break statement as instructed like this