Python Forum
blocking presidential alert
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
blocking presidential alert
It's not something that you just get away with. The SIM card can run a simple java code. One literally can tell the phone what to do remotely. If I am an engineer and I know how the system works I easily can turn on the microphone and just listen to what you are talking to your friends in the pub or to your family. I can trigger a call from your phone to anyone without any indication that something is happening. No sounds, no alerts or something on the screen. This is scary. And that is not the OS.

The OS itself is a different story. If you root your phone you will see that the OS keeps records of where you have been the last two months. A list of the cells with which the phone was connected. Records about your calls, messages, emails and so on. Virtually everything you are doing with the device. Usually, you don't have access to thins things and you cannot even see them. This is scary too. If I run a multimillionaire or billionaire business I will not use any mobile phone just for precaution. Why presidents don't have smartphones or if they do the devices are highly modified?

It will not be an issue if all of this were with good intentions but it isn't. There is no average intelligent person who trusts it's government on one hundred. It's not without a reason.

One last word. The GSM encryption is so weak. If you don't use at least 3G for calls or you are using it but your device is in a bad connection and drops from 3G to 2G it's so easy for someone to listen to the conversation. Using tools for 50 bugs. Yes, he/she will not be able to do it in real time but the conversation could be stored on the hard drive and decrypted later.

A significant part of our life is the phone. Considering all I said we don't own our life anymore.
"As they say in Mexico 'dosvidaniya'. That makes two vidaniyas."
https://freedns.afraid.org