Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
chr in Python
Question: Write a program in Python to allocate and display Block and Floor No. on the basis of Customer Number. Assuming there are 10 Blocks ('A' to 'J') with 5 floors (0 to 4) each and allocated to customers sequentially as per their Customer Number. For example: Customef no 1 gets [Block A Floor 0], Customer no 3 gets [Block A Floor 2], Customer no 7 gets [Block B Floor 1]

NOTE: This program has to be done only using arithmetic operations and type conversions (i.e., without use of if-else)

HINT: ASCII codes for 'A','B'.. are 65, 66,... & chr(65) in python is 'A'

I am new to python and this forum so I am extremely sorry if I broke any rules Big Grin

I have tried everything I can (at this stage) but I can't seem to find the logic and I am also not very familiar with chr function.

Please help me.
If you 'have tried everything' then maybe you can share your results with us.

Using old-school paper and pencil can help to understand logic (customer number in parentheses)

A 0 1 2 3 4 -> (1)A0, (2)A1, (3)A2, (4)A3, (5)A4
B 0 1 2 3 4 -> (6)B0, (7)B1, (8)B2, (9)B3, (10)B4
/../

I think you can spot the pattern. You should ask yourself: what should I do to get from 7 (customer number) B1 (block and floor).
I'm not 'in'-sane. Indeed, I am so far 'out' of sane that you appear a tiny blip on the distant coast of sanity. Bucky Katt, Get Fuzzy

Da Bishop: There's a dead bishop on the landing. I don't know who keeps bringing them in here. ....but society is to blame.
The customer gets a number that will correspond to the letter of their block. If they are in block A there number is 65, then if they have floor number 3, their number could be - 653 - chr(65), 3 - A, 3.
(May-14-2019, 01:18 PM)perfringo Wrote: If you 'have tried everything' then maybe you can share your results with us.

Using old-school paper and pencil can help to understand logic (customer number in parentheses)