Python Forum
switching from pycharm to sublime issue
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
switching from pycharm to sublime issue
#1
hi everyone.

I have recently started to learn the very basics of coding in Python through Youtube videos. I had been using PyCharm with no issues. , I recently decided to buy a book on the subject. To Follow along with this book they suggested Sublime. I installed it with no problem but when i tried running the hello world program
hello_world.py, i get this error;

file"/Users/myname/desktop/python_work/hello_world.py", line 1, in <module>

I have tried deleting the file and restarting the process again. No luck. I also tried the new build thinking i
Python was not communicating with Sublime.

Python3.sublime-build
"cmd": [python3","-u","$file"]

Still I get this error. Is it possible that it's because I still have Pycharm on my computer? Can Python only interact with one text editor?


I know this is probably obvious, but please let me know what I have missed.

also, could I just try to follow this book using PyCharm instead?

Thanks in advance

Drifter
Reply
#2
Have you ever run python outside of PyCharm? It could be something as simple as python not being included in the path variable. What happens if you just type "python" (or maybe "python3") in a CMD window? It should respond with something like:
Output:
Python 3.8.2 (tags/v3.8.2:7b3ab59, Feb 25 2020, 23:03:10) [MSC v.1916 64 bit (AMD64)] on win32 Type "help", "copyright", "credits" or "license" for more information. >>>
Reply
#3
deanhystad

Thank you for responding.

I’m on a MacBook Air

I started out using a tutorial and downloaded Python. Instructor said to use PyCharm. I was halfway through the basic concepts when I decided I could benefit by another source such as a book. Sometimes it’s practical to learn the why instead of just going by instruction. This particular book was using sublime which seems to function very differently. As for your suggestion;
I entered python3 into Terminal and got this in return

Python 3.8.3 (v3.8.3:6f8c8320e9, May 13 2020, 16:49:34
[clang 6.0 (clang-600.0.57)] on darwin
Type”help”. “Copyright”, “credits” or “license” for more information.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Driftsr
>>>
Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Newbie question about switching between files - Python/Pycharm Busby222 3 543 Oct-15-2023, 03:16 PM
Last Post: deanhystad
  while loop not working-I am using sublime text editor mma_python 4 1,060 Feb-05-2023, 06:26 PM
Last Post: deanhystad
  Help Switching between keyboard/Mic input in my code Extra 1 1,044 Aug-28-2022, 10:16 PM
Last Post: deanhystad
  Sublime Text Editor not recognizing Python elroberto 5 2,802 Jun-13-2022, 04:00 PM
Last Post: rob101
  Code folding in Sublime Text Mondata 2 2,758 Mar-12-2021, 04:16 PM
Last Post: Mondata
  How to link Sublime Text 3 Build system to Python 3.9 Using Windows 10 Fanman001 2 4,531 Mar-04-2021, 03:09 PM
Last Post: martpogs
  Sublime Text TechNitium 4 2,711 Jan-23-2021, 08:41 AM
Last Post: TechNitium
  sublime & intellisence luke83 0 1,604 Nov-20-2020, 08:26 PM
Last Post: luke83
  Sublime Text + Anaconda not indenting Python code correctly Maxximiliann 0 1,954 Jun-13-2020, 06:09 PM
Last Post: Maxximiliann
  pytest binary issue and pycharm issue pierre38 0 1,600 May-20-2020, 10:17 AM
Last Post: pierre38

Forum Jump:

User Panel Messages

Announcements
Announcement #1 8/1/2020
Announcement #2 8/2/2020
Announcement #3 8/6/2020