Python Forum
del in for loop not deleting everything
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
del in for loop not deleting everything
My problem is that I want to use del in a for loop to delete everything in a list.

Code:
users = ['a', 'b', 'c', 'd', 'e']

for user in users:
    del users[0]

print(users)
However, this deletes everything except the last 2 values.
I am a beginner and learning. Please explain why this is happening. Thank you Smile
Add print(user, users) just before line 4 to see what happens.
noswad likes this post
users = ['0', '1', '2', '3', '4']

print('for user in users:')
for user in users:
    print('delete ', users[0], 'from', users, 'user =', user)
    del users[0]
print('users =', users)

print('\nwhile i < len(users):')
i = 0
while i < len(users):
    print('delete ', users[0], 'from', users, 'i =', i)
    del users[0]
    i += 1
print('users =', users)

print('\nwhile len(users) > 0:')
while len(users) > 0:
    print('delete ', users[0], 'from', users)
    del users[0]
print('users =', users)
Output:
for user in users: delete 0 from ['0', '1', '2', '3', '4'] user = 0 delete 1 from ['1', '2', '3', '4'] user = 2 delete 2 from ['2', '3', '4'] user = 4 users = ['3', '4'] while i < len(users): delete 0 from ['0', '1', '2', '3', '4'] i = 0 delete 1 from ['1', '2', '3', '4'] i = 1 delete 2 from ['2', '3', '4'] i = 2 users = ['3', '4'] while len(users) > 0: delete 0 from ['0', '1', '2', '3', '4'] delete 1 from ['1', '2', '3', '4'] delete 2 from ['2', '3', '4'] delete 3 from ['3', '4'] delete 4 from ['4'] users = []
(Nov-22-2020, 08:52 PM)Gribouillis Wrote: Add print(user, users) just before line 4 to see what happens.

Okay, I see what is happening now, but why is it skipping values? Shouldn't the first value always be deleted because it is [0]?
(Nov-22-2020, 09:04 PM)deanhystad Wrote:

print('for user in users:')
for user in users:
    print('delete ', users[0], 'from', users, 'user =', user)
    del users[0]
print('users =', users)