Python Forum
dict elements are sometimes treated as List and sometimes as String
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
dict elements are sometimes treated as List and sometimes as String
I'm just learning Python by developing an anagram finder.

After a bit of debugging it seems that if I check "if token not in words" then the words dictionary treats its elements as List items.

But if I assign a value without doing the "if" check, the values are treated as Strings (rather than a List of strings).

Is there somewhere I can research why the behavior changes? Is there a way to force the dictionary to make the values Lists?

I'm using PyCharm 2019.3.4 for Mac with Python 3.7.2

# This code block treats words[] values as List items, allowing append to work
words = dict()
token: str ="acto"
if token not in words:
    words[token] = ["coat"]
else:
    words[token].append("coat")

words[token].append("taco") #In this code block, "taco" is appended to the List associated with the "acto" key -> ['coat', 'taco']

for x in words:
    print (words[x])
# This code block treats words[] values as Strings items.  Append does not work
words = dict()
words[token] = ["coat"]
words[token].append("taco") #blows up because String has no append method.
Please, post full traceback you get, in error tags. There is something else, because your code works:
the second code works
words = dict()
token:str = "acto"
words[token] = ["coat"]
words[token].append("taco")
print(words)
Output:
{'acto': ['coat', 'taco']}
If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself, Albert Einstein
How to Ask Questions The Smart Way: link and another link
Create MCV example
Debug small programs

Hi Buran

Thanks for helping. Here's the snippet and the error message

words2 = dict()
words2[token]="coat"
words2[token].append("taco") #Line 16
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/Users/Library/Preferences/PyCharmCE2019.3/scratches/QuickDictionary.py", line 16, in <module>