Python Forum
encyption help slow perfomance
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 4 Average
encyption help slow perfomance
Hi,

Firstly thanks for reading. I am not an python coder but I have been ask to encrypt some emails and I have incredible slow performance. I have googled the parts to get the script going but I am estimating a week before the encryption is finished. can some help me out

pii_email.txt has 11 million email address

import binascii, hashlib
salt = 'xxxxxxxxx'

print "Opening the file..."
target = open('HASHED_EMAILS.txt', 'w')
print "Truncating the file.  Goodbye!"
target.truncate()
with open('pii_emails.txt') as f:
    for line in f:
#        print(line.rstrip('\n'))
#        print('x')
#        print(binascii.hexlify(hashlib.pbkdf2_hmac('sha256', line.rstrip('\n'), salt, 100000)))
        target.write(binascii.hexlify(hashlib.pbkdf2_hmac('sha256', line.rstrip('\n'), salt, 100000)))
        target.write("\n")

print "And finally, we close it."
target.close()
Is it slow without the encryption?
Instead of binascii.hexlify, why not just call hex() on the hashlib object? This could just be a style thing, but I get the feeling for a file so large, we might need to do some... interesting things to get a speedup).

I guess maybe another question is what your goal is. sha256 is a one way encryption, so you'll have a file full of things you can never decrypt. Which doesn't seem to serve an actual purpose to me, unless each line of the source file is a different email, and you're generating email hashes so you can later make sure they were received by the client correctly by comparing hashes, or something.
So you have 11 million emails, and you do 100 thousand iterations on each.
How could that not be slow?
This isn't a "python is slow" thing.  It's not that io is slow.  It isn't even that your file is big.
The problem is that sha is *designed* to be slow.