Python Forum
error when trying to update mongodb
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
error when trying to update mongodb
I am working with flask trying to update a mongodb collection which works fine when I state the fieldname that needs updated, but I want to fieldname to be a variable depending on which needs updated. This works fine to update the field:

Scoresenglish6.objects(user_id=user_id).update(E6001=str(score))
But, the fieldname being updated can change (so in this case it is "E6001") so I have the fieldname needing updated as a variable called field_name:

score = "10"
field_name = "E6001"
Scoresenglish6.objects(user_id=user_id).update(field_name=str(score))
Then I get the error:

Error:
mongoengine.errors.InvalidQueryError: Cannot resolve field "field_name"
obviously because there is no field name called field_name. Is there a way to do this? Thanks in advance, I'm a home coder working on a home project so apologies if this seems vague and not well explained.
Ah, you seem to be using MongoEngine. Did you look at the docs? You can pass keyword arguments in a dict, e.g. here (search for "updating" to see the example). Since objects returns a QuerySet object when you access it, per the top of the page, you might want to look at the docs for that class too, since that will tell you fully how to use the update method.
(Jul-04-2020, 04:29 PM)ndc85430 Wrote: Ah, you seem to be using MongoEngine. Did you look at the docs? You can pass keyword arguments in a dict, e.g. here (search for "updating" to see the example). Since objects returns a QuerySet object when you access it, per the top of the page, you might want to look at the docs for that class too, since that will tell you fully how to use the update method.