Python Forum
fsolve 3 equations with 3 unknowns. Can't get an answer.
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
fsolve 3 equations with 3 unknowns. Can't get an answer.
Hello. Im new to the forums here and new to python. Forgive me if i do something wrong.

I have been working on this fairly simple code and can't seem to get it to print correct answers.

It's basically 3 equations (a,b,c) and three unknowns (x,y,z). The unknowns are obviously angles. I know the equations work because i have used them in matlab and arduino. Again, i'm really new to python... basically just started yesterday. Let me know what i messed up or if im going about this wrong.

Thanks.

from scipy.optimize import fsolve 
import math 
import numpy as np

d=0
h=6
j=6
k=4

def equations(p): 
    x=p[0]
    y=p[1]
    z=p[2]
    a=-math.cos(math.radians(x))*d*(math.cos(math.radians(y))*math.sin(math.radians(z))+math.cos(math.radians(z))*math.sin(math.radians(y)))+math.cos(math.radians(x))*(math.cos(math.radians(y))*j+k*(math.cos(math.radians(y))*math.sin(math.radians(z))+math.cos(math.radians(z))*math.sin(math.radians(y))));
    b=-math.sin(math.radians(x))*d*(math.cos(math.radians(y))*math.sin(math.radians(z))+math.cos(math.radians(z))*math.sin(math.radians(y)))+math.sin(math.radians(x))*(math.cos(math.radians(y))*j-k*(math.cos(math.radians(y))*math.sin(math.radians(z))+math.cos(math.radians(z))*math.sin(math.radians(y))));
    c=math.sin(math.radians(y))*j+k*(math.cos(math.radians(y))*math.cos(math.radians(z))-math.sin(math.radians(y))*math.sin(math.radians(z)))+d*(math.cos(math.radians(y))*math.cos(math.radians(z))-math.sin(math.radians(y))*math.sin(math.radians(z)))+h;
    return (a,b,c)

p = fsolve(equations,(10,0,6))

w=round(p[0]),round(p[1]),round(p[2])
print w

Also the answers i constantly get are (0,-51,-58). I have no clue why and it also doesnt change when I change input values.
Posting again because no one has replied.