Python Forum
guizero repeat command
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
guizero repeat command
I am new to guizero and Python in general but I'm fighting my way through it and I think I'm almost there.

Essentially, I'm making a barcode comparing app. I'm using guizero to:

-bring up a first pop-up to collect a first scan
-bring up a second pop-up to collect a second scan
-Compare them
-App turns green if they are the same, red if they are not
-Wait a little
-Clear inputs and turn app background gray again

I also have a status message to state what process it is doing

Where I am having issues is that when that sequence is done, I want it to start back at bringing up the first pop-up.

I found the repeat command but it isn't working the way I need. When I use repeat, it runs regardless of where I am in my sequence and just endlessly brings up my first pop-up. If I was writing in C, I would just wrap my command, a wait and app.display() in a while loop but that doesn't apply in Python.

What could I do to repeat my command, without a set amount of time?

Never mind. I don't know if it was the right way but I just did:
while True:
    compare()
    app.update()

app.display()
This works!
I don't like your GUI. From your description I would expect there to be 1 window with two buttons, a Store button that grabs a bar code and a Compare button that scans a bar code and compares it to the stored barcode. This would let me grab one scan and do multiple comparisons.
I didn't like the GUI either. It started out with buttons but ended up not having any at all. Thinking back on this, going with a GUI was a little much for the application and completely unnecessary. It was a fun learning experience though.

Shortly after I got this working, I ended up scrapping the GUI and going with a little OLED display. Now I am working on changing out the GUI code to code for a SSD1306 display.