Python Forum
help in creating a new language with python
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
help in creating a new language with python
i am creating my own programming language (the name is codime) interpreter\compiler with python,but every time i want to compile\interpret my script written in my language,i need to go to cmd and key in

first,the directory.
then,run it like this:
python test.py test.codime

test.py(the interpreter create with python)
test.codime(stuff written in my language)

1)how to make it run by just clicking a run button in a text editor instead of needing to go the cmd and write the above comment line  again and again to run it?

2)how do i make it so that the interpreter that i am creating can only interpret file that have the .codime file extension?(like python can only compile file with  .py   extension.

i am a beginner, so please make the answer as detailed as possible  Smile ,but not too long word ,if possible.  Big Grin
thanks......
(Dec-19-2016, 04:45 AM)hsunteik Wrote: (like python can only compile file with  .py   extension.
who says that python can only compile a file with .py extension?
Tradition is peer pressure from dead people

What do you call someone who speaks three languages? Trilingual. Two languages? Bilingual. One language? American.
Normally, I will open a terminal, navigate to the directory I want, type in my program to run it the first time. After that, I just use the term's 'history' by hitting the up-arrow key and then enter.  Saves a little bit of typing.
If it ain't broke, I just haven't gotten to it yet.
OS: Windows 10, openSuse 42.3, freeBSD 11, Raspian "Stretch"
Python 3.6.5, IDE: PyCharm 2018 Community Edition
(Dec-19-2016, 01:41 PM)sparkz_alot Wrote: Normally, I will open a terminal, navigate to the directory I want, type in my program to run it the first time. After that, I just use the term's 'history' by hitting the up-arrow key and then enter.  Saves a little bit of typing.