Python Forum
how difficult its to move to Python 3.8 from Python 2.7
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
how difficult its to move to Python 3.8 from Python 2.7
Hello All,
I am working for a health insurance company as a python developer and we were using python 2.7 and willing to move to Python 3.8 as soon as possible due to the EOL of Python 2. We have a big mobile service using Python 2. I am not a big expert in this and would like to know How difficult its and what are the typical issues in this regard.
Thanks in advance,
Kumar
It really depends on your project. Start with 2to3, which will do a lot of the tedious work for you, and test thoroughly.

In my experience, half or more of the effort is dealing with bytes vs str. I recommend you use type hinting and mypy to go back and validate those parts of your code.

A lot of people find the migration difficult enough that they've waited this long, so I don't want to suggest that it's going to be easy. I'd love it if you post back here with any findings though, it might inspire a tutorial on doing such a migration.
(Jan-22-2020, 10:06 PM)micseydel Wrote: It really depends on your project. Start with 2to3, which will do a lot of the tedious work for you, and test thoroughly. In my experience, half or more of the effort is dealing with bytes vs str. I recommend you use type hinting and mypy to go back and validate those parts of your code. A lot of people find the migration difficult enough that they've waited this long, so I don't want to suggest that it's going to be easy. I'd love it if you post back here with any findings though, it might inspire a tutorial on doing such a migration.
Hello micseydel, Thanks for the response. So, does it mean we can use the old code for the existing app?
And also the error we are getting is ERROR: Package 'setuptools' requires a different Python: 2.7.12 not in '>=3.5'
does it mean the issue is with the setuptools only or any others?