Python Forum
How to pass variable as an argument to be used in a function?
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
How to pass variable as an argument to be used in a function?
Hi everyone,
I'm new to python for forgive me if my fundamental idea of this concept is way off.

I have 2 python programs. One of them contains the following function. It's purpose being to connect to a db and run a query. I want to be able to pass some variable to it, and use the variables contained value in the sql query (note the ** portion of query):
def updateSent():
    cnxn = pyodbc.connect('UID='+dbUser+';PWD='+dbPassword+';DSN='+dbHost)
    cursor = cnxn.cursor()
    update_stmt = "UPDATE WKM_sms_outbound SET status = 'sent' WHERE msg_id = **value from msgId variable**"
    cursor.execute(update_stmt)
Then be able to call it from program 2 like this:
from program1 import updateSent
updateSent(msgId)
Is this possible? I'd imagine that I'm doing it incorrectly, but have googled for a while now and am unable to find exactly what I'm looking for.

Thank you in advance.
something within following lines:

def updateSent(msg_id):
    with pyodbc.connect('UID='+dbUser+';PWD='+dbPassword+';DSN='+dbHost) as cnxn: # I assume user, password and host will have fixed, real values
        cursor = cnxn.cursor()
        update_stmt = "UPDATE WKM_sms_outbound SET status='sent' WHERE msg_id=?"
        row_count = cursor.execute(update_stmt, msg_id).rowcount
    cnxn.close()
    return row_count # this way your function will return number of affected rows
take a close look at pyodbc docs:
https://github.com/mkleehammer/pyodbc/wiki
at least for Connection and Cursor objects.

Check also the connection string depending on your database
If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself, Albert Einstein
How to Ask Questions The Smart Way: link and another link
Create MCV example
Debug small programs

Thank you Buran,

That's an interesting solution, and I will have to try it.