Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
invalid syntax
#1
I guess I have got python running. This is the command line:

python3 pyethrecover.py -w wallet.json -p 1234

There is a syntax error. Can you make anthing of it from this:

 File "pyethrecover.py", line 134
   except Exception, e:
                   ^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax
Reply
#2
There is a little lie in there description on GitHub.
Quote:This tool is compatible with both Python 2 and Python 3. It depends on the following libraries
This is not True as it has except Exception, e: should be except Exception as e: for Python 3.
Has also xrange,which should be range to work in Python 3.

So you need to run it with Python 2,
if don't want to try and do better job than they have converting to Python 3 Wink
Reply
#3
I am not the only one having problems with this program. Others have posted elsewhere their inability to get it going.

I do not think it will run as is in either version. I did change it to "as" as I recalled having asked this question before and it did run in python3.
will change range for now also.

I will now maintain two versions - 2 and 3 and test.

trying with python3 but bumped into another error. It seems pip gave me joblib for python2 but not for python3.

sysadmin@W17:~/Desktop/pyethrecover program - 06-01-17 - A/pyethrecover-master$ python3 pyethrecover.py -w wallet.json -p 1234
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "pyethrecover.py", line 14, in <module>
    from joblib import Parallel, delayed
ImportError: No module named 'joblib'
sysadmin@W17:~/Desktop/pyethrecover program - 06-01-17 - A/pyethrecover-master$ python pyethrecover.py -w wallet.json -p 1234
sysadmin@W17:~/Desktop/pyethrecover program - 06-01-17 - A/pyethrecover-master$
Reply
#4
(May-31-2017, 08:22 PM)Able98 Wrote: trying with python3 but bumped into another error.
Your going to constantly be bumping into errors trying to run it in python3.x if they havent changed their code....and obviously they have not if they still have old python code. Your basically converting it from 2.x -> 3.x for them. It would be easier to just use python2.x
(May-31-2017, 08:22 PM)Able98 Wrote: ImportError: No module named 'joblib'
install that library for your python3.x
pip3 install joblib
Recommended Tutorials:
Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  print(data) is suddenly invalid syntax db042190 6 1,204 Jun-14-2023, 02:55 PM
Last Post: deanhystad
  SyntaxError: invalid syntax ?? korenron 15 5,765 Jan-25-2022, 11:46 AM
Last Post: korenron
  Invalid syntax with an f-string Mark17 7 7,839 Jan-14-2022, 04:44 PM
Last Post: Mark17
  invalid syntax in my class CompleteNewb 2 1,910 Dec-13-2021, 09:39 AM
Last Post: Larz60+
Exclamation Invalid syntax error(Predict Ethereum Price) lulu43366 2 3,175 Sep-24-2021, 01:24 PM
Last Post: lulu43366
  Unexplained Invalid syntax Error cybertooth 5 3,265 Aug-02-2021, 10:05 AM
Last Post: cybertooth
  [split] SyntaxError: invalid syntax Code_X 3 2,764 May-04-2021, 05:15 PM
Last Post: Yoriz
  Invalid syntax error - need help fixing calgk01 3 3,289 Feb-23-2021, 08:41 PM
Last Post: nilamo
  Invalid syntax using conditionals if - else jperezqu 1 2,336 Jan-13-2021, 07:32 PM
Last Post: bowlofred
  invalid syntax in line 5. Help Asadzangibaloch 2 2,393 Dec-10-2020, 04:26 PM
Last Post: deanhystad

Forum Jump:

User Panel Messages

Announcements
Announcement #1 8/1/2020
Announcement #2 8/2/2020
Announcement #3 8/6/2020