Python Forum
keyboard.is_pressed attribute error
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
keyboard.is_pressed attribute error
Hello all

I'm totally new to python and try to walk before I can crawl.

The intention of the below code is to save serial input (received from an Arduino) to a file for as long as the application runs. The application can be interrupted by a keypress.
import sys
import serial
import keyboard

try:
    ser = serial.Serial('COM4', baudrate=57600)
    ser.flushInput()

while True:
        ser_bytes = ser.readline()
        print(ser_bytes)
        file = open("testfile.csv", "a")
        file.write(str(ser_bytes))
        file.close()

if keyboard.is_pressed('esc'):
            break;

ser.close
except:
    print("Unexpected error:", sys.exc_info()[0])
    print("Unexpected error:", sys.exc_info()[1])
The output (containing the error)
Output:
C:\Users\sterretje\Documents\3_Development_Python>C:\Python34\py.exe serial_test.py b'a,bc,def\r\n' Unexpected error: <class 'AttributeError'> Unexpected error: 'module' object has no attribute 'is_pressed'
The arduino currently sends 'a,bc,def\r\n', the 'b' is probably left over rubbish from arduino's bootloader or something python specific; that's currently not relevant.

The question is obviously where I went wrong? Running this on a Windows 8 system, ActivePython 3.4.1.
The keyboard library was downloaded from https://github.com/boppreh/keyboard, extracted and copied to C:\Python34\Lib\site-packages.
Did you name your own script keyboard.py, or do you have another file with that name? That seem like a likely culprit.

Otherwise, I'd suggest that you try providing the output of this:
import keyboard
print(keyboard.__file__)
Thanks for the reply. The program is called serial_test.py and the output of the edprint command
Output: