Python Forum
split strip issues 'NonType'
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
split strip issues 'NonType'
hello,

I am extremely new to python so bare with me. I am using a product that requires the use of python for custom functionality.

I have an automation tool that is ingesting and reading an email. I need this email to "split" at a specified string. That string is 'Classification:' however, Classification may not always be in the email to be split at, sometimes the string may be 'Sent with BlackBerry Work'. The string I am working with now is:

splitresponse__response_value = filtered_artifacts_item_1_0[0].split('Classification:') if "Classification:" in filtered_artifacts_item_1_0 else (filtered_artifacts_item_1_0, "Sent with BlackBerry Work")[0].strip()
When I run this, I receive this:
, line 37, in splitresponse
AttributeError: 'list' object has no attribute 'strip'

any help would be appreciated, I basically need the email to split at either "Classification:" or "Sent with BlackBerry Work" it will always be one or the other present, never both.

Thank you,
That line is too long IMHO. I would do it like this:

if "Classification:" in filtered_artifacts_item_1_0:
    splitresponse__response_value = filtered_artifacts_item_1_0[0].split('Classification:')  
else:
    (filtered_artifacts_item_1_0, "Sent with BlackBerry Work")[0].strip()
From this code, it appears filtered_artifacts_item_1_0 is a list. In the fourth line there, you put it in a tuple with "Sent with BlackBerry Work". Then you get the [0] index of that tuple, which is filtered_artifacts_item_1_0. Then you try to strip that, which causes an error, because (as the error says) you can't strip a list.

My guess is that you mean to do something else when you make that tuple? If that's right, what are you trying to do?
Craig "Ichabod" O'Brien - xenomind.com
I wish you happiness.
Recommended Tutorials: BBCode, functions, classes, text adventures