Python Forum
few questions (I am a beginner)
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
few questions (I am a beginner)
Huh I am very new to python and having a hard time understanding some basic things. Can anyone please help me with the following? Can you please answer my questions in the same format?
Thank you

1. Am I correct in saying python is a multi purpose language in that it can help build websites, app development and query databases?
2. Can python be used to query a SQL database? How about a NoSQL database?
3. Do I need to have very good math/statistical background in order to code
with python?
4. Whats the name of the tool in which I would create my python code? Example, I would use TOAD/Oracle developer to query a Oracle database. What would I use for python?

I am mostly interested in learning python to query databases/build reports.
(Sep-27-2019, 01:39 PM)eeps24 Wrote: 1. Am I correct in saying python is a multi purpose language in that it can help build websites, app development and query databases?
you can use python for all of the above and many more...

(Sep-27-2019, 01:39 PM)eeps24 Wrote: 2. Can python be used to query a SQL database? How about a NoSQL database?
yes on both counts. Popular database providers have python bindings/connectors already developed. Do you have specific SQL/No-SQL DB in mind?

(Sep-27-2019, 01:39 PM)eeps24 Wrote: 3. Do I need to have very good math/statistical background in order to code with python?
My personal opinion is that math skills/math mindset is always an advantage in life :-) Even more in fileds like programming/computer science, etc. At the same time python is considered very beginner-friendly and is often selected as language of choice for introduction to programming

(Sep-27-2019, 01:39 PM)eeps24 Wrote: 4. Whats the name of the tool in which I would create my python code? Example, I would use TOAD/Oracle developer to query a Oracle database. What would I use for python?