Python Forum
pygame installation problems
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
pygame installation problems
Hello everyone,

I'm completely new to the Python language or to coding whatsoever. I'm following a guide done by Rob Miles called "Begin to code with Python", at the moment I'm learning how to install and add Pygame library using python shell. I use Windows 10 for this.
I started by opening Windows PowerShell and typing "py -m pip install pygame --user", there were no problems with that, it even gave me the option to update to the last version and I did so.

Apparently after that I should be able to write "import snaps import * " in Python IDLE to import all the functions in the snaps library, but there is where I get the error, a window pops up saying "invalid syntax" and the secont "import" is highlighted in red. If i only try to import snaps I get this error "ModuleNotFoundError: No module named 'snaps'".

It does says that if I want to use snaps in other folders, simply copy the file snaps.py into the folder, funny enough that file does not exist anywhere in my computer.

I know that pygame is installed and working because if I run "py -m pygame.examples.aliens" in the windows PowerShell, I'm able to play the aliens game.

I've tried to google in diferent ways but I didn't find anyone with my same problem, and I'm not able to figure it out as I don't fully understand how this programs work.

Sorry for the massive text. Thanks in advance!
RockBlok likes this post
snaps appears to be a pygame wrapper handling some boilerplate pygame code for you. at least thats what it looks like from
https://github.com/Begintocodewithpython...n/snaps.py

If your going to import that module then you need save that snaps file in the same directory as your other code and import that as well as install pygame.
RockBlok likes this post
Recommended Tutorials:
Are you by chance using "Begin to Code with Python" by Rob Miles?