Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
python sql help
hello, i am a rather beginner for programming, certainly to python.
i wrote a piece of code in python, helped myself by the numerous tutorials online

the piece of code is getting data from my sql server
it gets the data in via a cursor

within the cursor i am testing the data on several points
for 1 of the points i need to retrieve data from another table in the database

but when i am calling the database again from within the cursor i get following failure code:
Error:
connection-is-busy-with-results-for-another-hstmt
i am sure this is a common problem but cannot find help online
what is a common routine to solve this problem?

things i've been thinking about:
-store the retrieved lines temporarely in another table ==> same problem
-store the retrieved lines in a CSV ==> looks not so neat in my opinion

thanks for your help, directing me to a tutorial where everything is explained would be the most perfect outcome for this question
It's not a common problem, usually a query works fairly quickly, or a bad request will time out.
Very hard to say without more information on what the data is, and what the code looks like.
Sometimes a bad query (usually some sort of join) will run for a very very long time. It's possible this is what you have.
Again, without more information from you, it's next to impossible to determine the cause.
hello,

my querry doesnt have a join in it
but what i do is like following:
sqlverbinding = pyodbc.connect(
    "Driver={SQL Server};Server=192.168.1.17;Database=Test;Trustedconnection=yes;"
)
cursor = sqlverbinding.cursor()
cursor1 = sqlverbinding.cursor()

def opvragenminimumstock(partnum):
    minimumstock = cursor1.execute("select columna from TABLEA where columnb = '"+ partnum +"'")
    print(minimumstock)
    pass

def sqlread(sqlverbinding):
    print("read")

cursor.execute("select * from TABLEB where columnA = 'stock' and columnB = 0 and columnC > 0")