Python Forum
Best Practice For String Quotations ?
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Best Practice For String Quotations ?
Hello ,

I am still very new to Python and programming in general .

I have noticed that some programmers use " " and some use ' ' in strings.

Example:

Print(" hello " )
Print('hello' )

While I understand that both are correct and if you want to use the single quote in your string you have to use the double quotes to define your string , as in :

Print(" it's a nice day today " )

I would like to know is there a standard that most Of you use ?
It seems to me that double quotes would be best, but I am very new and I want to make sure that I am not starting out with any bad habits .

Thanks
It depends, and is sort of a personal preference.
The actual pep (most recent) can be viewed here: https://www.python.org/dev/peps/pep-0498/
I like to use single quotes, but use double if string contains single quote, or vice-versa,
(single quote if string contains double quote). If the string contains both single or double, the one
that is the same as that selected for the whole string will have to be escaped,example: '' for a single quote,
or "" for double quote
(Aug-31-2017, 04:12 PM)Zork_3 Wrote: I would like to know is there a standard that most Of you use ?
PEP8.org (Better CSS styled pep-8 website).
String Quotes 
Quote:In Python, single-quoted strings and double-quoted strings are the same.
This PEP does not make a recommendation for this.
Pick a rule and stick to it.
When a string contains single or double quote characters, however, use the other one to avoid backslashes in the string.
It improves readability.
For triple-quoted strings, always use double quote characters to be consistent with the docstring convention in PEP 257.

Zork_3 Wrote:It seems to me that double quotes would be best
My rule is that i always use single quotes,easier to type and i think it look better Wink