Python Forum
question about list and remove function
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
question about list and remove function
hello,
I am a beginner in programming,started learning python a few days ago.When I was doing exercise,found a problem that I couldn't solve by myself.Could anyone help me about it?Thank you very much.
My python version is 3.6.3
the codes:
name = ["aa", "bb", "cc", "dd"]
for zzz in (name):
    name.remove(zzz)
print(name)
I wanted to delete or remove all values in the list,but the results always contain the values on the even places (like "bb" and "dd").
However,when I execute codes below:
name = ["aa","bb","cc","dd"]
for zzz in (name):
	print("hello, " + zzz)
I can get the results I want,printing every string with all the names in the list.
Is it because this function can not use with remove function?thanks.
the reason is that your indexes get confused once you remove an item from the lsit
If you do it in reverse order, it will work:
name = ["aa","bb","cc","dd"]
for zzz in reversed(name):
    name.remove(zzz)
print(name)
But if all you're trying to do is clear the list, just use:
name = []
Hi,
It is a bad practice to change an iterable object during iterating over it.

When you removing elements from the list, the loop is executed as follows:

Output:
name = ["aa", "bb", "cc", "dd"] # ===== enter the loop (1) for .. in statements gets next value from the list using next(name); so zzz = "aa" (1) remove "aa" from name var. (now name = ["bb", "cc", "dd"]) (2) on the second lap of the for loop: next(name) yields to "cc", because name was changed! so, zzz = "cc" (2) remove "cc" from name; (name = ["bb", "dd"]) (3) trying to get next element next(name) raise (internally) StopIteration, because there are no third element in the array; Here, the loop is completed... ... therefore, name = ["bb", "dd"]
[quote="Larz60+" pid="43394" dateline="1522373388"]